Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
跳转到主要内容

Location Settings

Asia-Pacific

AU -  Sydney
AU -  Melbourne
AU -  Brisbane
CN -  Hong Kong
CN -  Shanghai
IN -  Bangalore
MY -  Kuala Lumpur
PH -  Metro Manila
CT -  Taipei City
CT -  Taipei City
TH -  Bangkok
NZ -  New Zealand
KR -  Seoul (Gangnam)
KR -  Gyeonggi-do
KR -  Seoul City Airport

North America

US -  Boston
US -  South Carolina

GLOBAL

English

CAREERS

SOLUTIONS

RESOURCES

ABOUT US

Location Settings

Asia-Pacific

AU -  Sydney
AU -  Melbourne
AU -  Brisbane
CN -  Hong Kong
CN -  Shanghai
IN -  Bangalore
MY -  Kuala Lumpur
PH -  Metro Manila
CT -  Taipei City
CT -  Taipei City
TH -  Bangkok
NZ -  New Zealand
KR -  Seoul (Gangnam)
KR -  Gyeonggi-do
KR -  Seoul City Airport

North America

US -  Boston
US -  South Carolina

GLOBAL

English

澳大利亚和亚洲的加速临床试验——STEVEN ROAN在美国OCT的演讲

Worth Sharing?

25 九月 2020
网络研讨会

SCRIPT

您好,早上好,下午好,晚上好。非常感谢您抽出宝贵的时间来参加今天的演讲。 我很高兴能在这里代表Novotech出席今天举行的澳大利亚和亚洲加速临床试验会议。

首先,我是谁?我叫Steve Roan。 我是Novotech的业务开发经理。 我加入Novotech已将近三年。 我在CRO领域工作了近15年,许多年前,我在伦敦中心区作为研究护士开始了我的职业生涯,为一家一期临床单位工作,对健康的志愿者进行招募、给药和临床试验,因此我很高兴今天来到这里。

演讲大约需要 20分钟。 我将分三个部分进行: 介绍Novotech;亚太地区如何处理新冠肺炎流行病以及Novotech在支持公司方面所做的工作;最后讨论在亚太地区进行临床试验工作的优势。 这是一个非常独特的时期;我确实错过了与他人面对面交流和合作的机会。 这是一个不同寻常的时期,但是必须接受它并充分利用,所以再次感谢您能够接入。我希望我们将来能有机会面对面地会谈。

首先,介绍一下Novotech的一些情况: 我们从1996年开始经营,至今已有20多年的历史。 我们从一家小型监管咨询公司起步,后来发展成为提供全方位服务的CRO。 总部位于澳大利亚悉尼。 我们在澳大利亚各地设有办事处。 我们还在新西兰、韩国、中国、香港、台湾、菲律宾、马来西亚、新加坡和印度进行经营。 我们在日本没有任何业务;我们确实经常被问到这个问题。 Novotech几年前决定不在日本开展业务。 日本在进行临床试验方面是一个有趣且具有文化挑战的地方,因此我们决定将其留给已经非常成熟的当地CRO,所以我们在日本拥有许多合作伙伴。 在下一张幻灯片中,我还将再花一些时间来谈谈中国。

就我们提供的服务而言,我们是提供全方位服务的CRO。 我们几乎专门与生物技术公司合作。 因此,我们与经验丰富、声誉良好的生物技术公司合作,但我们也与一些在临床领域初来乍到的生物技术公司合作,它们从未提供过临床试验。因此,我们有一个生物技术团队或由专家顾问组成的BioDesk专家团队,该团队可以就药物开发计划、进行临床前数据评审、任何毒理学数据以及监管事务专家方面进行指导,从而真正引领这些小型生物技术公司进入临床阶段。

就我们的治疗经验而言,它非常多样化。 正如我提到的,我们几乎只与生物技术公司合作。 许多公司都在肿瘤学领域工作,因此,Novotech也在为此工作。我们执行的试验中约有30%至40%是肿瘤学试验,因此要使自己适应生物技术领域的实际情况。 除此之外,我们的经验也很广泛。 我们进行了许多临床试验和传染病辅助生物技术方面的工作,这些技术确实需要接触仅在亚太地区才存在的患者。 迄今为止,我们已经在该地区管理了1100多个项目,其中一些是关键性试验,也支持多项FDA/EMA产品注册。

就我们的运营模式而言,Novotech直接与申办者合作,直接与申办者签订合同、执行和管理试验,但我们当然也与我们世界各地的合作伙伴CRO合作,申办者联系Novotech时可能会说道:“请问,我们要管理试验。 我们还希望包括一些欧洲或美国试验机构。 我们可以与你们合作,并且你们可以来主导其他CRO吗?” 而且,我们还与其他CRO合作,他们与我们取得联系,并声称他们的申办者也希望在该地区开设试验机构,并且由于我们拥有本地知识,他们也来找我们合作。

值得一提的是,与全球其他地区截然不同,Novotech的工作人员都是雇员。 在我们进行经营的任何国家/地区,我们均不使用外包的临床监查员;所有员工均受Novotech SOP约束。

具体讲一点关于中国的情况,我们将转到幻灯片5,您会看到一个名为PPC的公司,所以我将花一点时间谈论PPC和中国,因为中国无疑是当许多公司与我们联系以执行试验时的首选。 PPC和Novotech拥有相同的所有权结构,我们拥有相同的管理层结构,我们本质上是两家相互协作但使用不同的名称进行交易的公司。 PPC品牌在中国非常有名,因此我们决定将该品牌保留在中国,但PPC实质上是Novotech在中国的交付部门,因此,我们在该地区共有1500名员工,24个办事处,以及包括我自己在内的位于美国的同事。 我们在美国有几处办事处,为像我这样的面向客户的工作人员提供支持。 我们当然在中国的生物技术领域看到了许多变化。 传统上,许多中国的生物技术公司只在中国境内合作。 在过去的两年或更长的时间里,他们开始在中国以外的地区寻找,因此我们看到许多希望在该地区管理临床试验的中国本土生物技术公司也开展了很多活动。

继续花一点时间谈论新冠肺炎;我想我们都听说过,我们在某种程度上都受到了影响。 当然,新冠肺炎流行病的起源始于亚洲。 在它传播到世界其他地区之前,有很多媒体报道了实际发生的事情。 我认为,总结一下目前正在发生的事情,那就是,亚洲国家在管理新冠肺炎方面所做的工作获得了很多好评。 当然,在美国,疫情仍然是一个持续存在的问题,我预计还会持续一段时间。 当然,在欧洲,我看到媒体报道说,不同国家/地区还都有疫情高峰。 这并不是说亚洲国家疫情也不会有任何持续增长,但我认为我们从何处开始的基础有很大不同。 当然,韩国和台湾是杰出的国家,它们在遏制流行病方面所做的出色工作在媒体上获得了大量的报道。

Novotech采取了什么举措以支持该地区的临床试验连续性? 我们已经在一些试验机构和医院看到了影响。 我现在要移至幻灯片8,请查左侧的监测图。 在一些国家和地区,我们确实受到了一些影响,比如监测员无法进入现场,以及进入医院受到限制。 我们看到这种情况正在回到正常化状态,事情开始有了转机。 试验机构启动;肯定受到一些影响,现在这种情况正在好转,招聘工作也是如此。 因此,Novotech看到了来自全球生物技术公司的大量活动,他们联系我们说:“看,欧美存在一定程度的不确定性,我们了解欧洲正在发生的事情,转折已经发生。 我们能否就有关在该地区开设试验机构的一些风险缓解策略展开讨论?”

Novotech在继续采取什么行动支持感兴趣的和进行中的申办者? 移至幻灯片9,我想强调我们一直在做并且非常非常受到申办者欢迎的事情。 自3月初以来,Novotech会每两周发布一次公告,并在网页上向我们的申办者公开。 该公告所涉及的内容,尤其令人感兴趣的是,我们正在同在每个国家与当地医院合作的国家经理一起合作,并从他们那里获得有关实际情况的最新信息,因此,如果我们在这里查看幻灯片,您会在幻灯片中看到一点绿色和黄色。 这就排出了澳大利亚排名前10位的招聘医院,并对监测方面的实际情况进行概述。 试验机构启动访问;他们可以面对面完成还是需要远程完成? 有监测吗? 会受到影响吗?等等。 我们制作了这些公告,并且已经看到该地区从黄色到绿色的发展趋势,所以这确实证明了其中一些国家实际发生的情况。 只要申办者希望收到这些公告,我们就会继续制作它们。 它们受到了令人难以置信的好评。 页面顶部是网页链接;请浏览我们的网站以访问这些内容。

我们在Novotech内还拥有一个由一些临床人工作员组成的工作组,他们遍及整个新冠病毒病,工作组范围遍及整个亚洲的新冠病毒病,因此我们有一些处于这些职位的关键人员来关注实际发生的情况。 就新冠病毒临床试验而言,确实,我们当然已经看到联系我们管理试验公司的一些活动。 事情已经有所转变,在早期有很多新冠病毒;目前情况已有所改变。 人们正在重新定义他们的临床试验;他们正在寻找新冠患者的特定情况,因此这里存在不断发展的空间,它要求我们也要不断发展自己的思维方式。

现在继续介绍在亚太地区工作的一些优势,我将首先关注幻灯片11。 我不会花太多时间在这上面;只是说一下澳大利亚在过去几年中已成为非常受欢迎的临床试验可选目的地。 形成这个结果的三个关键因素是: 澳大利亚的实用、务实和简单的启动程序。 在下一张幻灯片中,我将详细介绍这一点。 再结合进行临床试验的总体费用。 希望您听说过澳大利亚的研发退税;如果没听说过,简而言之,就是澳大利亚政府为临床费用提供43%的研发退税。 它作为现金退税的一部分返还给符合条件的申办者,前提是这些申办者符合申领研发退税的标准。 Novotech与许多公司合作,可以为您提供合适的申办者指南和建议。 我们不是税务专家;我们鼓励您与其他公司进行更深入的讨论和对话。 如果您可以申请在澳大利亚享受研发退税,临床试验费用可能会便宜很多,而尤其在美国以外的地方工作通常具有成本效益。

最后是关键的第三点。如果不在清单中,您将不能在该地区进行试验,但由于这些是FDA和EMA接受的临床试验数据,因此您可以在知道这些数据将被这些关键权威机构接受的情况下进行试验。

继续浏览幻灯片12,只是为了让您快速了解实际启动的速度。 对于许多公司而言,一个关键的里程碑是开始研究并引入第一位患者。通常,里程碑式付款或某些融资与这些里程碑联系在一起。 这种事情发生得越快,钱就可以越快地进入公司。 例如,澳大利亚的程序与美国略有不同。您不需要IND。 我们与许多美国生物技术公司合作,他们实际上在开始他们的临床试验、开始收集临床数据之前就已经有了IND,然后他们开始准备进行IND提交,因此这是由于不同的思维方式所致。 许多公司正在利用这一途径。 在澳大利亚,我们同时拥有公共试验机构和私有试验机构。 我们将始终尝试识别私有试验机构,因为它们的启动时间比公共试验机构快约四个星期,因此,如果可能的话,我们总是将公共试验机构和私有试验机构组合在一起。 在这里的幻灯片上,您可以看到该区域平均启动时间轴的一点可视化演示。

继续谈到目前亚洲作为试验目的地的吸引力,我认为首先要看幻灯片13,它对患者的可及性;世界人口的60%位于亚太地区。 我们拥有一些非常高密度的城市生活环境;我们拥有一些很棒的医院、非常大型的教学机构、可以接触到各种适应症的大量受试者。 在过去的几年里,我们拥有大量的研究人员和KOL资源,所以经过每一年的试验、每一年的经验积累,经验就会变得更丰富,变得越来越多。

我已经讨论过澳大利亚的成本竞争力。 最重要的是,与全球其他地区相比,亚洲的临床试验执行价格通常便宜15%至30%,因此对于许多公司而言,所有这些因素也使亚洲确实成为一个非常好的选择。

转到下一张幻灯片,只是更详细地介绍了为什么选择亚洲。我们谈到了招募;这是左侧的一些统计数据,用于与其他地区和亚洲相比较。 我们在这里引用的数字是,招募速度可能比其他国家快40%。 Novotech之所以表现出色,是因为我们与未曾在澳大利亚工作过的公司合作,而他们之前在亚洲也没有工作过,这是我们取得成功的关键因素之一,我们与客户一起花费大量的时间进行可行性研究,我们为许多机会提供支持,可以使申办者有信心,这是亚洲实际上可以提供的信心,因此,一个很好的例子就是我们倾向于在肿瘤学工作中所走的路径;剂量递增,然后进行扩展研究,第1部分和第2部分。 我们通常为一期临床在澳大利亚进行这些,然后扩展到亚洲。 澳大利亚在人口规模方面存在一些限制因素。 我们可以跳过这一步,扩展到亚洲,接触更多的患者,并具有更高的招募率,从而更快地进行家庭研究,所以这只是我们一直在Novotech进行肿瘤学研究的一个例子。

从图表的中间看,坦率地说,该区域的临床试验密度较低。 您可以看到,美国显然是大多数公司的关键市场,但就临床试验的交付而言,它也已经非常饱和。 如果您看右边,我们往下看,那么在其他亚洲国家/地区,由于临床试验密度很低,它们提供了很好的机会。

我将在本演讲的最后部分中重点介绍一些研究案例,以证明我们的申办者已经取得的实际成功。 Engage Therapeutics显然已批准了我们在此演示文稿中使用其名称。 他们在美国进行试验,遇到一些试验机构绩效问题,CRO建议他们与Novotech联系,对于这项特殊的研究,我们设法在澳大利亚的三个试验机构启动。 首席执行官的实话实说已经表明,唯一的遗憾就是他们本该更早开始在澳大利亚运作。 我们有许多类似于遵循传统方式的公司的故事,它们受到了行业人士的影响,这些人仅仅在一个或两个地区工作过,他们在亚洲没有任何经验,他们来找我们,我们在如何进行临床试验方面开拓了他们的思路,我们也取得了很多成功。

最后,我将重点介绍一项非常成功的亚洲研究。 这就是全球3期小细胞肺癌的临床试验。 现在,韩国是这里的佼佼者。 我们在许多亚洲国家/地区进行了研究;韩国是这项研究的杰出贡献者。 您可以在这里看到该图;我们在12个月内成功地招募了84名受试者,这在本研究的临床试验执行中确实处于领先地位。 韩国医院;首屈一指。 基础设施太棒了,它们是大型机构,运作良好,在招募患者方面非常熟练,KOL 参与度很高,可行性的反馈都非常准确,从文化上来说,它们能很好地配合,这是进行临床试验的绝佳之地。 如果您从未在亚洲工作过,我们向您大力推荐;值得调查。

我可以花上几个小时来讨论这个问题,我可以详细介绍Novotech在每个特定国家/地区开展业务的细节,我可以提出许多不同的临床试验方案;遗憾的是,我没有时间,但是如果你有任何关于Novotech的问题,关于在亚洲的工作提出建议以及有可行性的问题,我很乐意与您建立切实的联系。 可行性确实是必经之路;Novotech很乐意为那些在该地区没有任何经验或者在进行临床试验时遇到困难的公司提供服务。 如果我们可以提供帮助,我们非常乐意进行调查并提供反馈。

我的演讲到此结束。 祝您会议顺利。 期待未来可能面对面的会谈;那一定很会棒! 祝各位会议愉快。 期待您的消息。 现在再见。

 

记录结束(23:00)

阅读全文

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Location Settings

Asia-Pacific

AU -  Sydney
AU -  Melbourne
AU -  Brisbane
CN -  Hong Kong
CN -  Shanghai
IN -  Bangalore
MY -  Kuala Lumpur
PH -  Metro Manila
KR -  Seoul
CN -  Taipei City
TH -  Bangkok
NZ -  New Zealand

North America

US -  San Francisco
US -  Boston

GLOBAL

English

SOLUTIONS

RESOURCES

ABOUT US

Location Settings

Asia-Pacific

AU -  Sydney
AU -  Melbourne
AU -  Brisbane
CN -  Hong Kong
CN -  Shanghai
IN -  Bangalore
MY -  Kuala Lumpur
PH -  Metro Manila
KR -  Seoul
CN -  Taipei City
TH -  Bangkok
NZ -  New Zealand

North America

US -  San Francisco
US -  Boston

GLOBAL

English

Accelerating Clinical Trials in Australia and Asia – Presented by Steven Roan at OCT USA

Worth Sharing?

25 September 2020
WEBINAR

SCRIPT

Hello, good morning, good afternoon, good evening.  Thank you very much for taking the time to join the presentation today.  I’m thrilled to be here on behalf of Novotech to present today on Accelerating Clinical Trials in Australia and Asia.

First of all, who am I?  My name is Steve Roan.  I’m Business Development Manager for Novotech.  I’ve been with Novotech for about three years.  I’ve been working in the CRO space for about 15 years, starting my career as a research nurse many, many years ago in Central London, working for a Phase 1 unit, recruiting, dosing and clinical execution of trials on healthy volunteers, so great to be here today.

The presentation should be around about 20 minutes.  I’ve broken it down into three sections:  An introduction to Novotech; how Asia-Pacific is handling the COVID-19 pandemic and what Novotech is doing to support companies as well; and finally talking about the benefits of working in Asia-Pacific for clinical trials.  It’s a very unique time; I certainly miss the opportunity to work with and meet people face-to-face.  It’s a different time, but have to embrace it and make the most of it, so thank you again for dialling in.  I hope we can meet face-to-face at some point in the future.

First of all, a little bit about Novotech:  We’ve been in operations since 1996, so over 20 years.  We started as a small regulatory consulting firm and then we’ve grown to become a full-service CRO.  The headquarters is in Sydney, Australia.  We have offices throughout Australia.  We’ve also got operations in New Zealand, South Korea, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and India.  We do not have any operations in Japan; it’s a question we do get asked fairly frequently.

In terms of our service offering, we are a full-service CRO.  We almost exclusively work with biotech companies.  As a result, we work with biotech companies that have a lot of experience, that are well established, but we also work with some biotechs that are very new to the clinical arena, they’ve never delivered a clinical trial before so, as a result, we have a biotech team, or a BioDesk specialist team which is made up of specialist consultants that guide companies in terms of drug development plans, doing reviews of preclinical data, any toxicology data, regulatory affairs specialists as well, so really guiding these smaller biotech companies to get into the clinical phases.

In terms of our therapeutic experience, it’s very diverse.  As I mentioned, we work almost exclusively with biotech companies.  A lot of companies work in the oncology space and, as a result, Novotech; about 30 to 40 per cent of the trials that we execute are oncology trials, so aligning ourselves to what’s actually happening in the biotech space.  Beyond that the experience is pretty broad.  We do a lot of clinical trials and infectious disease supporting biotechs that really need access to patients that really only exist in the Asia-Pacific region.  To date we’ve run over 1,100 projects in the region, and a number of these are pivotal trials supporting multiple FDA/EMA product registrations as well.

In terms of our operating model, Novotech works directly with sponsors, contracting and executing and managing trials directly with the sponsor, but we also certainly operate with our partner CROs around the world, sponsors contacting Novotech to say, “Please, we want to run a trial.  We want to also include some European or US sites.  Can we work with you and can you lead these other CROs?”  And we also work with other CROs who approach us and say that their sponsors would like to open up sites in the region as well and they come to us because of our local knowledge.

Something that’s pretty important to mention, which is quite different to other parts of the world, is that the staff at Novotech are all employees.  We don’t operate with contract CRAs in any of the countries we have operations; all of the staff are employed working under the Novotech SOPs. 

Specifically talking a little bit about China, we’re just moving over to slide 5, you’ll see there a company name called PPC, so I’ll just spend a little bit of time on PPC and China ‘cause China’s certainly top of mind for many, many companies when they approach us for the trial execution.  PPC and Novotech have the same ownership structure, we have the same management structure, […].  The PPC brand name is very strong in China, so we’ve decided to keep that brand name in China, but PPC is essentially Novotech’s delivery arm in China, so collectively we have 1,500 employees, 24 offices across the region, including myself here in the US with colleagues as well.  We have a couple of offices in the US supporting our client-facing staff like myself.  We are certainly seeing a lot of changes in the biotech space within China.  Traditionally, a lot of the Chinese biotechs would only work within China.  Over the last two years, or a little bit longer, they’ve been starting to look outside of only China, so we’re seeing a lot of activity coming from local Chinese biotech companies looking to run clinical trials in the region as well.

Moving on a little bit to spend a little bit of time just talking about COVID-19; I think we’ve all heard about it, we’ve all been impacted in some capacity or another.  Certainly, the origins of COVID-19 pandemic started in Asia.  There was a lot of media report about what was actually happening before it spread into other parts around the world.  I think summarising what’s actually happening now is that the Asian countries are getting a lot of praise for what they’ve done in terms of management of COVID-19.  Certainly, in the US it’s still an ongoing issue and I expect there’ll be continued issues for a little while.  Certainly, in Europe I’m seeing the media reports that there’s spikes across different countries.  It’s not to say that there’s not going to be any continued spikes in the Asian countries as well, but I think the base of where we’re starting from is significantly different.  Certainly, South Korea and Taiwan have been standout countries and well reported in the media in terms of what they’re doing to contain the pandemic.

What is Novotech doing to support clinical trial continuity in the region?  Well, we have seen an impact in some of the sites and some of the hospitals.  I’m just moving over to slide 8 now and looking at the monitoring graph there on the left-hand side.  We’ve certainly had some impacts across some of the countries and sites in terms of monitors not being able to go into sites and restrictions in terms of getting into the hospitals.  We are seeing this bounce back to normalisation and things are starting to open up.  Site initiation; there were certainly some impacts and this is now bouncing back, as is recruitment as well.  As a result, Novotech has seen a lot of activity from global biotechs approaching us to say, “Look, there’s a level of uncertainty in Europe and the US, we understand what’s happening in Europe, there’s a bit of a corner is being turned.  Can we please open up discussions about some risk mitigation strategies about opening up sites in the region?”

What is Novotech continuing to do to support sponsors that are interested and also ongoing sponsors?  Moving over to slide 9, I’d just like to highlight what we’ve been doing and what’s been very, very well received by our sponsors.  Since early March Novotech’s been producing a bulletin every two weeks and making that available to our sponsors on the webpage.  What this bulletin is covering, which is particularly of interest, we’re working with the country managers who are working with local hospitals in each country and we’re getting an update from them in terms of what’s actually happening on the ground, so if we look at the slide here, you can see a little bit of a green and yellow colouring in the slide.  This is pulling out the top 10 recruiting hospitals in Australia and giving an overview of what’s actually happening in terms of monitoring.  Site initiation visits; can they be done face-to-face or does it need to be done remotely?  Is there monitoring?  Is there any impact, et cetera?  We’re producing these and we’ve been seeing some great trends across the region in terms of we’ve gone from lots of yellow to lots of green, so it’s really a testimony to what’s actually happening in some of these countries.  We’ll continue to produce these bulletins for as long as it takes, for as long as the sponsors would like to receive these.  They’re incredibly well received.  Up the top of the page is the web link; please go to our website to access these to take a bit of a look.

We also have an operating group of some clinical staff within Novotech that are across the whole COVID, COVID across Asia in terms of a working group, so we’ve got some key people in these positions keeping an eye on what’s actually happening.  In terms of COVID clinical trials, yes, we’ve certainly seen some activity of companies approaching us to run trials.  Transition has been that there was a lot of COVID early in the piece; this has now changed a little bit.  People are redefining their clinical trials; they’re looking for specific things with the COVID patients, so it’s an ever-evolving space which requires us to be ever evolving in our thinking as well.

Just moving on a little bit to some of the benefits of working in Asia-Pacific, I’m going to focus on slide 11 first.  I won’t spend too much time on this; just to say that Australia has become over the last few years a hugely popular trial destination choice.  There’s three key things that are leading to this:  It’s the practical, pragmatic and simple start-up process in Australia.  I’ll speak about this a little bit more on the next slide.  Combine that with the overall cost of conducting a trial.  I hope you have heard about the Australian R&D rebate; if not, in a quick nutshell, the Australian Government offers an R&D rebate of 43 per cent of clinical costs.  It comes back as part of a cash rebate to sponsors that are eligible that fit the criteria to be able to claim the R&D rebate.  Novotech works with a number of companies that can guide and advise if you are a suitable sponsor for that.  We’re not the tax experts; we’ll encourage you to have a deeper discussion and dialogue with these other companies.  If you can claim it, the cost of running clinical trials in Australia can be significantly cheaper with the R&D rebate and just the general cost effectiveness of working outside of particularly the US.

And then finally the third point which is key; you wouldn’t do a trial in the region if this was not on the list, but it’s the clinical trial data is accepted by the FDA and the EMA, so you can run a trial knowing that the data is going to be accepted by these key authorities.

Moving on to slide 12, just to give you a quick update on the speed of actually start-up.  For many companies a key milestone is getting the study started, getting the first patient in.  Frequently milestone payments or some financing is tied into these milestones.  The quicker this can happen, the quicker that money can come in to the company.  The process in Australia is a little bit different to the US, for example; you do not require an IND.  We work with a lot of US biotech companies that are actually coming to us before they have an IND, starting their clinical trial, starting to collect clinical data, and then they’re moving in towards an IND submission, so different way of thinking.  A lot of companies are taking advantage of this pathway.  In Australia we have a mixture of both public and private sites.  We will always try to identify a private site because they start up approximately four weeks quicker than a public site, so we always go for a combination if possible, of both public and private.  On the slide here you can see that little bit of a visual representation of what the average start-up timeline is in the region.

Moving on to now a little bit; the attractiveness of Asia as a trial destination, referring to slide 13, I think first and foremost its access to patients; 60 per cent of the world’s population is based in Asia-Pacific.  We’ve got some very high-density city living environments; we’ve got some fantastic hospitals, very large teaching institutions with access to a high number of subjects across various indications.  Over the last few years, we’ve got great resources in terms of investigators and KOLs, so for every year of running a trial, for every year of gaining experience, the experience just compounds and becomes even more and more and more.

I’ve already talked about the cost competitiveness of Australia.  On top of that, Asia, compared to other global locations, typically can be anywhere between 15 to 30 per cent cheaper for a clinical trial execution, so all of these things makes Asia really a very good choice for many, many companies as well.

Moving on to the next slide, just speaking in a little bit more detail about why Asia; we talked about recruitment; here’s a bit of a stat on the left-hand side here comparing other locations versus Asia.  The number we’re quoting here is recruitment can be approximately 40 per cent quicker than other countries.  One of the key things that Novotech does extremely well because we work with companies that haven’t worked in Australia, they haven’t worked in Asia before, we invest a lot of time with clients walking them through a feasibility process, we support a lot of feasibilities to give sponsors a real lot of confidence that actually Asia can deliver, so one great example, the path we tend to follow for our oncology work; dose escalation and then expansion studies, part 1 and part 2.  We often run these in Australia for the phase 1 part and then we expand out to Asia.  Australia has some limitations in terms of population size.  We can jump over that, expand out into Asia, get access to significantly more patients and have much higher recruitment rates to bring home studies a lot quicker, so that’s just one example that we use all the time at Novotech in terms of our oncology studies.

Looking in the middle of the graph there, just frankly it’s lower clinical trial density across the region.  You can see the US obviously a key market for most companies, but it’s also very saturated in terms of clinical trial delivery.  If you look across the right-hand side as we go down, some of the other Asian countries represent very good opportunity in terms of less trial density.

I’m just going to spend the final parts of this presentation just highlighting a couple of case studies, evidence of actually successes that our sponsors have had.  Engage Therapeutics has obviously given us approval to use their name in this presentation.  They were running a trial in the US, they were having some site performance issues, a CRO recommended they contact Novotech, and this particular study we managed to get off the ground with three sites in Australia.  The take-home quote from the CEO was the only regret was that they should have started in Australia a lot earlier.  We’ve got so many stories similar to that of companies that have followed a traditional path, they’ve been influenced by people in the industry that have only ever worked in one or two regions, they didn’t have any experience in Asia, they’ve come to us, we’ve opened up their mind in terms of thinking in how to execute clinical trials and we’ve had a lot of success.

And finally, I’m just going to highlight an Asian study that was delivered very successfully.  This was a phase 3 global small cell lung cancer trial.  Now, Korea was the standout country here.  We ran the study in a number of Asian countries; South Korea was a fantastic contributor to the study.  You can see the graph over here; we managed to recruit 84 subjects over a 12-month period which was really leading region for the clinical trial execution of this study.  Korean hospitals; second to none.  The infrastructure’s fantastic, they’re big institutions, they’re well run, very slick institutions in terms of patient recruitment, the KOLs are all very engaged, the feasibility feedback is all very accurate, culturally they’re just good to work with, it’s just a fantastic place to run clinical trials.  If you’ve never worked in Asia, recommend it; it’s worth investigating.

I could spend hours talking about this, I could go into details on every particular country Novotech has operations, I could present numerous different scenarios of running clinical trials; unfortunately, don’t have the time, but would love to actually connect with you if you have any more questions on Novotech, on working in Asia, putting it out there, feasibility.  Feasibility really is the way to go; Novotech’s happy to do that for companies if they haven’t had any experience in the region or if they’re having some troubles delivering any trials.  We’re more than happy to investigate and provide feedback if we can help.

I’ve come to the end of the presentation.  Wishing you a good rest of the conference.  Looking forward to potentially meeting in the future face-to-face; won’t that be great?  Have a great rest of the conference.  Look forward to hearing from you.  Bye for now.

Read in Full