根据 世界卫生组织 (WHO) 的说法:“生物安全是一种战略性的综合方法,用于分析和管理对人类、动物和植物的生命和健康的相关风险以及与环境相关的风险。”它承认,各部门之间存在联系,以及危险在部门内部和部门之间移动并产生严重后果的可能性。它涉及到为防止意外接触毒素和病原体而制定的抑制指南、技术和实践。负责任的做法(生物安全)是确保活生物体和环境安全的有效途径。 

自 19 世纪后期以来,生物安全的概念就一直存在,当时据报告在实验室人员中发现疾病后,便引入了安全措施。 

生物安全的概念和标准 

生物危害: 不受控制地接触可能导致疾病的生物制剂的潜在风险。 

生物抑制: 用于防止传染病从研究中心和实验室泄漏的程序。 

生物保护: 为降低传染因子被盗、丢失、误用或故意释放的风险而采取的一系列措施,包括那些访问设施、材料储存以及数据和发布政策的负责人员。 

标准: 与可能受污染的生物制剂密切接触的研究人员必须意识到风险,并学习安全完成工作所需的技术和实践。 

普遍性: 每个人都必须遵守所有的生物安全程序,因为任何人都有携带和传播病原微生物的风险。 

屏障: 用于抑制生物污染的要素分为两类: 免疫(疫苗)和主要屏障: 安全设备,例如手套、防护服和口罩等,以及二级屏障,包括隔离工作区、洗手区和适当的通风系统。 

消除: 对于所有产生的废物,都必须严格按照针对每种有害物质制定的具体程序进行处置。 

生物安全等级 

病原体的定义为可以在人类和其他活生物体中引起疾病​​的传染因子。以下是实验室中可能发现的不同等级的病原体风险组: 

风险组 1 

对活生物体和环境的风险最低,不太可能引起疾病。 

风险组 2 

对活生物体构成中等风险和对环境风险较低的病原体。包括可引起疾病的微生物,但有可用治疗方法,且传播风险低。 

风险组 3 

对活生物体具有较高风险和对环境具有中等风险的病原体。包括引起潜在严重疾病的微生物。有可用的治疗方案,但可能更昂贵且更难获得。疾病传播的风险也更高。 

风险组 4 

对活生物体和环境具有高风险的病原体。这些微生物可能会导致容易传播的危及生命的疾病。通常没有治疗方法。 

 

物理抑制 

物理抑制设施是能够安全处理和管理微生物的地方。这些设施很重要,因为它们可以减少和防止病原体被释放到公众中的风险。 

物理抑制 1 级设施 

这种类型的设施适用于低危害性的微生物,例如风险等级为 1 级的生物体。研究人员很容易受到现有程序的保护,个人防护设备 (PPE) 包括封闭鞋和实验室外套。 

物理抑制 2 级设施 

适合托管风险等级为 2 级的生物体,包括研究和诊断实践。PPE 包括封闭鞋、实验室外套和护目镜。所有 PPE 在移除之前都需要进行净化处理。 

 

物理抑制 3 级设施 

用于风险等级为 3 级的生物体的研究和诊断实践。这些设施通常具有额外的建筑功能,有助于降低感染风险。在这些设施中所需的个人防护装备包括实验室外套、封闭鞋、护目镜和手套。PPE 通常在使用后丢弃。 

 

物理抑制 4 级设施 

适用于风险等级为 4 级的生物体的研究和诊断实践。这些设施与其他建筑物隔开,并设有淋浴进出和通风及净化系统。 

 

法规

国际卫生条例 

国际卫生条例 (IHR)》是一项国际法,在 196 个国家具有法律约束力。《国际卫生条例》的宗旨是“预防、防范、控制疾病的国际传播并提供公共卫生应对措施”。它指的是可能对人类造成重大伤害的疾病,无论其来源如何。卫生安全战略需要意识到各种不同的威胁,包括自然爆发、流行病、生物恐怖主义袭击和生物战。 

只有高度重视生物安全,才能有效地建立为公共卫生系统提供支持的实验室功能和能力。 

 

生物武器公约 

《生物武器公约》(BWC) 是第一个禁止生产和使用一整类武器的国际条约。它于 1975 年生效,包括实验室、研究中心、疫苗生产设施和传染病异常暴发病例之间的信息交流。它依赖于区域和国际层面在生物安全和生物安保方面的国际合作,这将反过来防止生物和毒素武器的开发、获取或使用。 

加强遵守 BWC 的行政和立法措施,包括提高认识和宣传、教育、生物安全和生物安保以及疾病监测、检测和抑制。 

卡塔赫纳议定书 

《生物多样性公约卡塔赫纳生物安全议定书》(2000 年)第 18 条概述了移动的改性活生物体应按照相关国际规则和标准进行安全处理、包装和运输。 

其他相关内容

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO): “Biosafety is a strategic and integrated approach to analysing and managing relevant risks to human, animal and plant life and health and associated risks for the environment.” It recognises that there are links between sectors and the potential for hazards to move within and between sectors, with serious consequences. It addresses the containment guidelines, technologies and practices that are put in place to prevent the accidental exposure to toxins and pathogens. Responsible practices (biosafety) are the only effective way to ensure that living organisms and the environment stay safe. 

The concept of biosafety has been around since the late 1800s when safety measures were introduced after there were reports of diseases being found in laboratory personnel. 

Biosafety Concepts and Standards 

Biological Hazards: The potential risk of uncontrolled exposure to biological agents that can cause disease. 

Biocontainment: Procedures used to prevent infectious diseases from leaking from research centres and laboratories. 

Bioprotection: A set of measures that are taken to reduce the risk of theft, loss, misuse or intentional release of infectious agents including those who are in charge of access to facilities, materials storage and data and publication policies. 

Standards: Researchers who work closely with potentially contaminated biological agents have to be aware of the risks and learn the techniques and practices required to do their jobs safely. 

Universality: All biosafety procedures must be observed and followed by everyone as anyone has a risk of carrying and spreading pathogenic microorganisms. 

Barriers: The elements that are used to contain biological contamination are divided into two categories: immunisation (vaccines) and primary barriers: safety equipment like gloves, protective suits and masks, and secondary barriers including insulated work areas, hand washing areas and adequate ventilation systems. 

Elimination: All the waste generated must be disposed of in strict accordance with the specific procedures set out for each hazardous material. 

Biosafety Levels 

Pathogens are defined as infectious agents that can cause disease in humans and other living organisms. Here are the different levels of pathogen risk groups that can be found in laboratories: 

Risk Group 1 

Has the lowest risk to living organisms and the environment and is unlikely to cause any disease. 

Risk Group 2 

Pathogens that pose a moderate risk to living organisms and a lower risk to the environment. Includes microorganisms that can cause disease but has treatments that are available, and the risk of spread is low. 

Risk Group 3 

Pathogens that are of a higher risk to living organisms and a moderate risk to the environment. Includes microorganisms that cause diseases that can be potentially serious. Treatment is available but can be more expensive and harder to come by. There is also a higher risk of the disease spreading. 

Risk Group 4 

Pathogens that have a high risk to living organisms and the environment. These microorganisms can cause life-threatening diseases that can easily spread. Treatments are not usually available. 

Physical Containment 

Physical containment facilities are places that are able to handle and manage microorganisms safely. These facilities are important because they reduce and prevent the risk of pathogens being released into the public. 

Physical Containment Level 1 Facility 

This type of facility is suitable for low-hazard microorganisms such as Risk Level 1 organism. Researchers are easily protected by the procedures that are in place, and Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) includes closed shoes and a lab coat. 

Physical Containment Level 2 Facility 

Suitable for hosting Risk Level 2 organisms including research and diagnostic practices. PPE includes closed shoes, a lab coat and protective eye gear. All PPE needs to be decontaminated before being removed. 

Physical Containment Level 3 Facility 

Used for research and diagnostic practices for Risk Level 3 organisms. These facilities usually have additional building features that help by minimising the risk of infection. PPE that is required in these facilities includes lab coats, closed shoes, protective eye gear and gloves. The PPE is usually discarded after use. 

Physical Containment Level 4 Facility 

Suitable for research and diagnostic practices for Risk Level 4 organisms. This facility is separated from other buildings and has a shower in/out and ventilation and decontamination systems. 

Regulations

International Health Regulations 

The International Health Regulations (IHR) is an international law and is legally binding in 196 countries. The purpose of the IHR is to “prevent, protect against, control and provide a public health response to the international spread of disease.” It refers to diseases that may cause significant harm to humans - no matter their origin. Health security strategies need to be aware of a diverse range of threats including natural outbreaks, pandemics, bioterrorism attacks and biological warfare. 

Building laboratory functions and capabilities to support a public health system can’t be done effectively without a strong focus on biosafety. 

Biological Weapons Convention 

The Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) is the first international treaty that banned the production and use of an entire category of weapons. It was entered into force in 1975 and includes exchanges of information between laboratories, research centres, vaccine production facilities and cases of unusual outbreaks of infectious diseases. It relies on international cooperation in regards to biosafety and biosecurity at both regional and international levels which will in turn prevent the development, acquisition or use of biological and toxin weapons. 

Administrative and legislative measures to enhance compliance with the BWC include awareness and outreach, education, biosafety and biosecurity and disease surveillance, detection and containment. 

Cartagena Protocol 

The Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety to the Convention on Biological Diversity (2000) outlines in Article 18 that Living Modified Organisms that are moved around should be handled, packaged and transported safely and in accordance with the relevant international rules and standards. 

Other relevant content